Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

The guy who ranted at the Jewish kids on the tube the other day

David Clapson

This guy Arrest over anti-Semitic abuse on Tube. What was he on about? Was he really quoting from the Bible? Are there any Christian churches which endorse his views? I really want to know where prejudice against Jews comes from. I've always been under the impression that the Bible is pro-Jewish. Not that I'm an expert, as you may have guessed.

I've always been under the impression that the Bible is pro-Jewish. Not that I'm an expert, as you may have guessed.

I'm no expert either. But it's pro-Jewish in the sense that it tells that Jesus, his family, the town where he grew up, the customs under which he was raised, the areas he mostly traveled in, the prophecies and missions he was on, and his disciples were all Jewish. And you'll find quotes like 'I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel'.

Likely much of the stuff that could be selectively quoted as being anti-Jewish will be for much the same reasons - when he criticises the status quo and how people should change, he will often be criticising his own people, who were Jewish.

Chuck in the mishmash nature of the bible, translation issues, other peoples and states prejudices, and the rather dramatic way the bible approaches many issues and teases harsh stances, only for Jesus to actually help the non-Jewish people who showed faith anyway, and the manner of his death, and we have quite the recipe for selectively quoting out of context to support a wide array of often contradictory stances.

A rusty can of worms if ever there was one, carrying the risk of botulism.