Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

'Immigration drives down wages' 'Trade Unionists against the EU constitution'

durruti02

love and rage!
those bloody union people they're all racists facists :rolleyes:

Brian Denny of TU's againstthe EU C. writes

http://www.spectrezine.org/europe/Denny5.htm

"Across Europe, it is clear that we are witnessing large movement of capital eastwards as labour heads west. This is happening in accordance to the principles of the single European market, which allow the free movement of goods, capital, services and people, regardless of the consequences. The single market is a mechanism to remove the powers of nation states to control the movement of capital and people in the pursuit of corporate profit. At the same time, it truncates all forms of democracy, including rights to fair wages, working conditions, social protection and collective bargaining by trade unions. These policies also ultimately feed the poison of racism and fascism, the last refuge of the corporate beast in crisis." etc etc

another ariticle about workers opposition to this from euro leftists mag

"SPECTREZINE
haunting europe... "

Fight Social Dumping

May 9, 2006 9:16 |by Doug Nicholls

highlighting the significance for unions across Europe of the fight by Swedish builders against a wage-cutting Latvian firm.
Britain, Ireland and Sweden were the only three European Union members to open their immigration doors completely to workers from new EU members when it expanded to the east last year. The Gate Gourmet and Irish Ferries disputes took place almost immediately.

At Gate Gourmet, eastern European labour was brought in to replace British workers. At Irish Ferries, Irish crews' jobs and wages were replaced by eastern Europeans on the minimum wage. There are at least 200,000 Polish workers looking for work in England and 100,000 in Ireland. Capital is flowing east and labour west, causing new problems.