Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Game of Thrones, are the books any good?

Karl Masks

Birds Angel Delight
I hear some old dude who looks like a fisherman adapted the TV show into a series of books but hasn't gotten round to finishing the last one.

I jest.

I'm considering reading them as they are highly regarded. But I didn't really enjoy the TV show. I'm not against grimdark fantasy at all, I quite enjoy it. I just felt the TV show traded far too heavily on the sex and violence and was gratuitious in context of the story. The worldbuilding is really good. So my question is are te books better (as is often the case).

I read the first two or three and they were pretty good but a bit clunky. Might be biased because I already knew the story having seen the show and also as I have little experience of fantasy books.

I binge read them before watching the show. They're great. Slow in places as you expect from the genre. A few more characters as they were merged for the TV show, - quite reasonably so. But if you loved the show for the world building, plotting, character arks, that's core to the books.

When watching it for the first time, I thought they got the casting spot on.

I binge read them before watching the show. They're great. Slow in places as you expect from the genre. A few more characters as they were merged for the TV show, - quite reasonably so. But if you loved the show for the world building, plotting, character arks, that's core to the books.

When watching it for the first time, I thought they got the casting spot on.
The acting was ok. Tyrion's accent was terrible.

I read the first two. Would like to read the third which I didn't for some reason because the
massive quest they go on that goes nowhere
was trope subversion that I didn't get at the time. Love Glokta though

There's a lot of stuff that doesn't pay off until book three.