Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Job application - salary expectations?

AnnO'Neemus

Is so vanilla
If a role is advertised as within pay band X, with a range of £23,000 to £53,000, what would you put for your salary expectation? I mean, that salary range is meaningless.

Glassdoor suggests an average salary in that organisation in that role of £29k, based on a small sample.

But I'm aware many organisations have a policy of starting new staff at the bottom of a pay band. However, I have some experience in a more senior role, so I wouldn't want to undersell myself.

There's the risk, though, that if I put that average, then my application might be binned before anyone even looks at it, does that happen?

So frustrating, because they must know what salary they're planning to pay, give or take £5k, surely? So why go through this nonsensical process?

How much attention do they pay anyway? Is it going to make a difference? Do they use this info when filtering applications/shortlisting for interview?

Last edited:
It is always tricky when there are salary ranges. And that is a very wide range which perhaps suggests they are not certain what kind of animal they want to hire.

In the current climate, pandemic n all, and me being on the dole for months I started pitching myself at the lower end. Like, going back 15 years in my career - plenty of others were doing the same on LinkedIn. If they're saying 29k, say 30k and even if that's less than you'd normally get it's still more than universal credit, that's the way i began to look at it.

I would probably pitch at the middle of the range for the application but not treat what I put as binding. Don't want to look too desperate but also not too cocky.

View it a bit like putting in an offer on a house - there's always things you can find out about the prospect that can cause you to back away and demand a better deal.