Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Working long hours damages your health

Brainaddict

slight system overdrive
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/4160358.stm

And in other news, bears really do shit in the woods. Still, this study has quantified the risk:

"Workers who do overtime were 61% more likely to become hurt or ill, once factors such as age and gender were taken into account.

And working more than 12 hours a day raised the risk by more than a third, the University of Massachusetts found. "

HA HA HA, all those nasty suits are going to DIE YOUNG! :D

Another study from the students at the "Faculty of the B******g Obvious" :rolleyes:

I've been reading reports that say this sort of thing since I was a student 18yrs ago.

What I didn't know until recently, that backs up what I've always thought, is that research has show that longer hours = lower productivity.

It does frustrate me that there seems to be this cycle of acquiesence where people work long hours when they don't need to because they think it will impress someone above them when it may not even do so. I suspect so many people could work so much less if they just asked their bosses 'Would you think any less of me if I worked my hours most days?' because I'm sure loads of managers would say 'No, I wouldn't mind at all as long as your work is good'.

Cloo said:
What I didn't know until recently, that backs up what I've always thought, is that research has show that longer hours = lower productivity.

It does frustrate me that there seems to be this cycle of acquiesence where people work long hours when they don't need to because they think it will impress someone above them when it may not even do so. I suspect so many people could work so much less if they just asked their bosses 'Would you think any less of me if I worked my hours most days?' because I'm sure loads of managers would say 'No, I wouldn't mind at all as long as your work is good'.