Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

The job hunting support thread

Cloo

Approved by toads
I've looked around, but I couldn't find a thread like this, to my surprise (could have sworn there was one at some point?) So a place to blow off steam, ask advice, generally support one another.

Anyway, I'm an editor and I have known for about a year now, ie just before I went on maternity leave, that my role was at risk, but there was some chance another one might be found in the interim. It hasn't been and I'm just about to be made redundant. Applied for a three or four things since April, but no joy - probably, I realise, as my CV was a bit shit and the one that was a really perfect match for me (basically the same job with one of our demi-competitors) wasn't willing to budge on paying less than I'm on currently, though I was hoping they might consider it.

CV now been considerably improved, after a very brief chat with some CV-reviewing people I got via www.thecvlibrarycom - they obviously do it for free as a way of trying to get people to pay for their pricey CV-writing services after free consultation, but the latter was enough to give me some good ideas. Seems to have worked, as I've just been offered my first interview, even though I dashed the application off in 20 mins as the agent was trying to find someone urgently (had been thinking about the role, but prioritised other ones). Also says something that maybe a concerted, one-shot go at a job application may sometimes be more effective than a microanylsed, multi-drafted one.

What irritates me is that on the job boards I am using they do not show closing dates. Sometimes I bookmark a job ad to look at the next day and by then it is GONE!!!

Yeah, I've noticed some don't do that.

Or really annoyingly, you find a great job on an employers' website. Which closed for applications seven months ago.