Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

My First Sewing Machine.. suggestions for easy projects for a complete beginner?

bimble

floofy
I got the machine to solve a curtain problem, and think I can just about manage to do it (a couple of straight lines that’s it).

But unexpectedly very excited by the whole thing now, of having a sewing machine and learning a new skill.. so what could I attempt as a total beginner and person with very little patience.. it’s not going to be anything which involves zips is it?

What’s the easiest thing in the world of sewing to make? Probably a tea towel. :(

Shirts are really complicated dessiato - cuffs, collars, buttonholes, all fiddly stuff.

I did a 'how to make a tote bag' thing I can send you if you like bimble.

I'm about to start tutoring on a project empowering Muslim women through the medium of sewing. :D I'm teaching them how to use sewing machines and the next session they are going to start making things to sell. I have explained that this might be a bit of a tall order and I'm desperately hoping that at least some of them already have some skills.

But we are starting with tote bags, scrunchies, cushions, maybe simple soft toys and then skirts.

Skirts are probably the easiest item of clothing, flared if possible, so you only have to get the waist measurement right. Baggy pyjama trousers aren't too bad either.

I’ve started (and stuck with) bags and cushions. Never done a zip.

You can do an envelope style closing for cushion covers but the deeper the better to keep them neat. You can also use buttons.
I can’t find the pattern I used because I deleted all my favourites.
ETA found it. How to Make a Zip-Free Cushion Cover | Hobbycraft UK
There’s loads of tutorials on there.

I did also make my own bunting. One sweet one with the name of my friend’s baby on and the rest sweary.
First and very basic bag and bunting attempts.
F0AE07F8-1345-4BD7-ACB7-4AD424BE1E30.jpegB0BBAC59-0A3C-4F65-A269-76DF629B2DFB.jpeg