Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Breadmakers

mattie

missing in inaction
I'm getting the missus one for Christmas - not my idea, I thought getting her anything for the kitchen would end in tears (probably mine), but she's dead set on one.

Anyone recently got one that they could recommend? Alternatively,any good places to buy one online? The ones on Empire Direct don't look that great, but I'm no expert.

I can't see it being used for making huge loaves, but a decent programmable one would be good. As it will be a present it would be good if it looked a bit swanky.

Cheers

Not a big fan of breadmakers. Sure, the idea of waking up to a freshly baked loaf is a nice one, but you wait until you set the timer, and get woken up at 3 am by the sound of someone being beaten to death in the kitchen. Or forget to put yeast in and end up having to clean horrible porridge out of the thing.
Can't help, sorry!

I love my breadmaker - its a cheap one from Aldi. :) My mum has a fabbo fancy one though - its a Panasonic and cost about a hundred quid - well worth it though. I almost wish mine would break so I can trade up. :D.

selamlar said:
Not a big fan of breadmakers. Sure, the idea of waking up to a freshly baked loaf is a nice one, but you wait until you set the timer, and get woken up at 3 am by the sound of someone being beaten to death in the kitchen. Or forget to put yeast in and end up having to clean horrible porridge out of the thing.
Can't help, sorry!

Once she's plugged it in it's out of my hands - I'll stick to offering useless and irritating advice when she tries to clean off the cemented-on dough. I'm used to the washing machine dancing round the kitchen late a night, so the breadmaker should be OK.

Ah how the topic of breadmakers divides Urban! :D

I've got a Panasonic one and it's top. Sorry I don't know the model number off hand.