Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Management scenario questions at interview?

Cloo

Approved by toads
So in a fortnight I have an interview for a line management position - I have 2 years' experience from 2020-2022 of line management and no training. I was going to get what sounded like a really great training package starting with an intensive two-day workshop and followed by online sessions, but unfortunately that workshop fell at the beginning of April 2020 :facepalm: and they never picked it up again virtually or otherwise.

Anyway, the interview will involve management scenario questions, so I'm keen on tips on what these might be and how to answer from anyone with experience.

NB, this is with BSI so there is a higher chance than many employers that they will do all their shit properly, and that when they say 'comptency based interview' they actually mean it.

I imagine it could be about corporate policies & procedures for various staffing scenarios. Employment law, code of conduct, managing problematic staff, sickness procedure, underperformance etc

Anyway, the interview will involve management scenario questions, so I'm keen on tips on what these might be and how to answer from anyone with experience.
Usual ones:

Explain how you've managed a difficult staff situation, what do you do, what did you learn?
How would you develop/lead a team to improve it's performace
How would you describe your management style
What would previous staff/line manager say about your strengths/weaknesses
How have you liaised effectively with peers in different departments?

There's more... stuff on leadership basically..

Always answer with the STAR technique and give examples... try to make the examples interesting/memorable and not too long winded, focus on what you did (no 'we's)... show your human by saying what was difficult, what you could've done differently etc..

Last edited:
Thanks Hollis that's really useful.