Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Made A New Claim With The Job Centre

Trauzor

Hi,

I'm new here, I saw this site while Google Searching, I felt this site offered the best advice and support so decided to sign up.

I have been back and forth between the Job Centre, the Work Programme and temporary agency work since December 2011. Before then I was in education and then on Income Based Jobseekers October on-wards until I found that temporary agency contract for the Christmas period of 2011. As I had very little experience in anything. I accepted whatever was offered, I found myself applying for many positions that if I had a choice I would not do. I had very little say in the matter as work for an unskilled teenager is hard to come by. I applied for many IT based positions as that's what I studied at college, apprenticeships, temporary agency contracts and was even offered Zero Hour Contracts which I had no idea about at the time. I was that desperate to get away from the dole, I accepted the first place that wanted me.

Fast-forward two years and all I have managed to get is temporary agency work and zero hour contract positions. I still have very little experience, no proven skills with only certificates to back the knowledge up. So I'm left with the Job Centre or these zero hour contracts.

I made a new claim with the Job Centre in the middle of March as I had been left staring at an empty bank balance for three to four weeks as I was never offered any work with the agency I was signed up with. The agency does not have much contact with you. It's a text message maybe once every week possibly twice. As you dial the line is busy for hours on end, before you know it there are no slots left. So that text message was a complete waste of time.