Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Hackney chitter-chatter &tc

5t3IIa

Anyone been to Hackney baths at Kings Hall Leisure Centre? Just at the bottom of Lower Clapton Road.

I've been idly planning to go for a while but suddenly realise that I've only regularly gone to one pool in my life (I'm new to Hackers innit :cool: ) and that was purpose built in the 80's. I am a bit :eek: about going to another! What if it's shit?

So - is the plaster to hair-wads ratio unacceptable or is it OK?

495px-Hackney_public_baths_1.jpg

Oh dear! :D

It's so utterly convenient though. I get off the bus in front of it every day and have nipped in once to get a timetable pamphlet thingy. Thought about asking for a quick look around but chickened out.

I've highlighted the women-only lanes swim on Thursday so I'll report back :)

marty21 said:
:D i did hear that the clissold sports centre was about to re-open

yeah right:rolleyes:
i heard it had to be compleately demolished and rebuilt due to the structural damage... where'd you hear otherwise?

GarfieldLeChat said:
i heard it had to be compleately demolished and rebuilt due to the structural damage... where'd you hear otherwise?

A good friend of mine heard it's reopening in January. Don't know where he heard it though.

GarfieldLeChat said:

can't remember now - it is a complete disaster anyway, opened for a few months = closed for the past 2 years?

Kings Hall was pretty scuzzy when i last went along. Clissold Leisure Centre = biggest white elephant in history, still waiting for it to reopen, although the scaffold has come down now. Haggerston Baths closed and crumbling into dust. Lido shut for the winter. Brittania Baths or Highbury Fields are probably your best bet tbh.

if you're on a 48 or 55 or 254 or 106 bus you can access york hall in bethnal green for a better swim and change - there are nicer changing room there now

or mile end leisure centre

marty21 said: