Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Donald Trump: hands off our NHS! petition hits 131,000 in a day

editor

hiraethified
Signed.

As part of his visit to the UK, Donald Trump has just said that the NHS must be on the table as part of any trade deal with the UK after Brexit. This is a serious and direct threat to the NHS that we all know and love - so I’m calling on our government to guarantee that our health service will never form part of trade deal with America.

As an NHS doctor I know how valuable our health service is. First and foremost I care about my patients, and I’m seriously concerned that this could be the beginning of the end for high quality healthcare for all in the UK.

Opening up the NHS to US corporations would mean that the profit motive invades our NHS, patient data is up for sale, access to healthcare is rationed and we would be staring at a system, as in the USA, where if you can’t pay you don’t get care.

Decent healthcare is a human right and should never be a commodity to be bought and sold. Let’s send a message to Donald Trump to keep his hands off our NHS and ask the UK government to explicitly guarantee that it will never form part of a trade deal with America.

Our NHS is there for all of us at the best and worst times of our lives, it’s part of our identity, and it is not for sale. Please sign my petition to help protect our NHS.
Sign the Petition

join. the. dots. a post-Brexit UK-US trade deal is not going to be the easiest trade deal in history. The multilateralism that the EU represents is the best way to counter the animality and bullying that are, in the current iteration of the international system, part and parcel of all bilateral trade negotiations. Slap the lexiteers in the face, they are cunts.