Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Why won't my cream float on my irish coffee??

oddworld

building a lego house
I've used brown sugar, jameson's, strong coffee and double cream.

2 attempts now and it sinks to the bottom despite using the back of the spoon.

Any tips good people of Urban?

you could try giving it a brisk stir before you do the cream, like when you're poaching eggs. and pouring it against the edge of the glass/mug, not the middle.

I've used brown sugar, jameson's, strong coffee and double cream.

2 attempts now and it sinks to the bottom despite using the back of the spoon.

Any tips good people of Urban?
it's too cold and the coffee is too hot? Also try running over that back of a spoon, not straight into the hot coffee.

I used to make emm for a living. Whipping cream, small amount of sugar, lightly whip till thickened a bit, add to glass over back of spoon.

Not enough sugar, even if you put too much sugar in if you then added a lot of alcohol it would have been made less sugary again. If this is the cause you need to increase the amount of sugary coffee to alcohol, probably by making a giant Irish coffee in a bigger glass.

Make your coffee, put the Jameson's in (not too much :( cos it will thin the coffee), put the sugar in (you do need a lot of sugar, three spoons plus for a normal sized cup, you might get away with two if it's a smaller cup), stir it up.

Double cream is fine, turn a teaspoon over and balance the tip of the spoon on the top of the coffee and VERY SLOWLY pour the cream onto the spoon so it goes down onto the top of the coffee, it may initially sink a little bit but should then float.

It's quite difficult to explain. But this method should work.

You are pouring the cream over the back of the spoon, yes?

Ah, 8115 is on the ball.