Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Free speech - a pandemic's work

Diamond

The Red Baron
I wrote up a very long piece on free speech during the pandemic. If you can bear to tackle 20k words, I would very much appreciate feedback from the good people of urban75.

The piece attempts to construct a new model of free speech and looks at 4 phenomena - (i) campus no-platforming, (ii) cancellation, (iii) social media bans and (iv) regulation-as-a-solution. To build the model, I rely heavily on a vertical/horizontal distinction in speech practice.

Why might you be interested in reading it?

Well, I've been reading these boards since at least 1998 and, in a general and unreferenced sense, they form the single most important resource for this paper. Almost all of the insights in this paper (should anyone actually consider them to be) are urban75 insights. Once you read it, you'll see what I'm getting at.

What's in it? Well, I'm a historian and a lawyer by training so it draws quite heavily on history, legal theory, and political theory. But its other major theme is poetry, which I use to explore the quality of expression and truth - in fact, I am drafting a cycle of sonnets on epistemological matters to include in a later draft of the text. The north star for the whole thing was readability though - I've prioritised that above many other things so hopefully it should be reasonably interesting and not too much of a slog.

Attachments

• Free Speech draft 3.pdf
    330 KB · Views: 38
Just thought I'd let you know I'm looking at this. I'd hate you to think after all your hard work that no-one was interested. I've skimmed your document once and am now re-reading at a more leisurely pace. Looks interesting.