Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Can anyone recommend a kids ' coding course?

kropotkin

libcom
My bright 10 Yr old wants to learn to code. He wants to write games, but I've explained to get there he will need to start with the basics.he did Scratch at school, but I'm thinking python would be good now.

Ideally it needs to be online and delivered in a weekly single class rather than a "boot camp". I know there are loads of these around, but I have no idea which are good...
Any experience? Thanks

Khan academy have some coding stuff. I've not used it but their stuff I have used has been very good.
My four years old is starting to get into Scratch. It's almost the only way I let her on a computer at the moment after the overdose of screens that was home learning.

What's his aptitude. Some of the online courses in Coursera start at absolute beginners. They're adult but for engineering type stuff I don't think it always matters. Get taught it properly at start. I did one a while back and it started with downloading the software needed, how it worked and programming. He'll soon be in charge of your digital world.

Codecademy is decent but you'll need to do it alongside them. There's a level of grown up problem solving that's not really kid suitable with it, IME.

Firetech have excellent courses, but are a bit pricey.

Code Kingdoms i hear good things about but haven't got any direct experience of.

Worth looking to see if there's a codeclub near you. What is a Code Club? — Code Club

I'm a software engineer but I am old and too far removed from modern beginner teaching to offer any specific advice. What I would say is: