Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Brixton news, rumours and general chat

editor

hiraethified
Following on from the bumper Autumn 2019 Brixton thread, here's the one for winter 2019-2020, and I've got the ball rolling with some suitably wintry scenes:

brixton-snow-dec-2010-07.jpg

brixton-snow-dec-2010-14.jpg

brixton-snow-dec-2010-10.jpg

Are there any Morris Dancing connoisseurs out there who can answer this:

in the display yesterday there were a couple of dancers dressed with what appeared to be plague doctor's beaks. Is this the Morris Dancing equivalent of going to a disco in a gas mask?
Morris dancers 5.jpg Morris dancers 4.jpg

in the display yesterday there were a couple of dancers dressed with what appeared to be plague doctor's beaks. Is this the Morris Dancing equivalent of going to a disco in a gas mask?
View attachment 194338 View attachment 194340
I'm no expert, but I have noticed a few sides wearing masks of varying descriptions in recent years. I guess to address the "blacking up" problem.

It looks like the mask doctors used to wear during the Plague because they believed it was spread through the air and used to put herbs in the beak to ward it off.

Similar to this, no?

Paul_Fu%CC%88rst_Der_Doctor_Schnabel_von_Rom_Holla%CC%88nder_version.jpg

Doctors tending patients with the plague adopted a gas-mask style facial covering with a curved beak over the nose and mouth containing sweet-smelling substances to ward off the disease. Small bouquets of herbs and flowers called posies, nosegays, or tussie-mussies became popular accessories carried to overcome the stench of death.
Our Pungent History: Sweat, Perfume, and the Scent of Death | Collectors Weekly

Reactions: CH1
I'm no expert, but I have noticed a few sides wearing masks of varying descriptions in recent years. I guess to address the "blacking up" problem.