Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Microsoft office

Calamity1971

If Mr Peanut says It's okay, then it is.
I've bought a laptop and it has widows 365 pre installed. My friend has a very old (ten years at least)office blag pro disk and key and I'm not sure it will work on a newer laptop. Looked at cost for official one and it's 40 quid a year, I'm not going to be using it that often so don't want to spend that. Can anyone help this complete novice when it comes to tech? Maybe a cheaper version available somewhere. I'm clueless so be gentle.
Cheers.

what do you want to use 'office' for?

Libre Office (available as a free download) does pretty much the same range of stuff. Some of the commands / buttons are subtly different and take a bit of getting used to, and if you're going to be sharing documents / spreadsheets then you can open / save stuff MS Office formats, but there can be issues round formatting

I've found Libre Office to work really well except for documents with complicated Track Changes and Comments. Even then it works, but just not as I'd like it to.

And yes you can save to .docx and .xls with no problems (which are the main ones I use).

And it's free as Puddy_Tat points out

what do you want to use 'office' for?

Libre Office (available as a free download) does pretty much the same range of stuff. Some of the commands / buttons are subtly different and take a bit of getting used to, and if you're going to be sharing documents / spreadsheets then you can open / save stuff MS Office formats, but there can be issues round formatting
I'm currently doing a business plan on a friend's laptop. Also may need it if I get a business going for other stuff. Excel.etc, although I'm not up to speed on that. Excel for dummies is gathering dust on my shelf. :facepalm: