Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Being tested on MS Excel as part of job interview

strung out

💩 🤣 🍆 💦 🧐 👻 🐝 🐈‍⬛
Ahoy hoy, I've got an interview this friday for a professional post in a library - my first since I finished my MSc.

There's an element testing my skills on Excel, details below:
You will be required to complete a data analysis test involving usage data, financials and written communication.

You will be assessed on your:

•Use of Microsoft Excel 2010, taking into consideration appropriate use of formatting, formulae and graphical presentation.
•Written communication, taking into consideration the content and appropriate professional style of your written communication.

My Excel skills are average - I can do most basic calculations and format things in a reasonably presentable way. I'd like to show I can do a few more fancy things though - I've done an intermediate Excel course, but I'm very rusty on things like pivot tables, graphs etc.

Anyone got any tips on things to practice and the kind of data they might provide me with?

If you're not used to the post-2007 versions of Excel, you really need some practice, as a lot of the commands are different from the earlier version.

I cocked up an online Excel assessment for a job earlier this year mainly due to not having met the 2007 version before.

These training documents appear to be public domain.

Think there's some online training on microsoft's website.

Fortunately I managed to get a temp job over the summer that gave the opportunity to do a word / excel refresher...

Fortunately, I do use Excel 2010 in my current job, though not for anything particularly complicated. I've also got Excel at home, but only the Mac version, so slightly nervous about practising on the Mac version and being flummoxed on Windows.

Fuck, that's scary.
I hope I never have to do that!
All I've ever used Excel for is staff rotas and stock order lists

Good luck fella!