Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

appearance fees?

friendofdorothy

Solidarity against neoliberalism!
Anyone experience of what rates of pay might be expected for appearance fee for attending an a panel discussion event?

depends what it's all about / what the organisation is, and whether it's something you feel strongly about / want to be represented in.

at the very least, i'd expect travel expenses to be offered, and to be fed tea and biccies.

think i did one when i was a part time student, and got something like twenty quid (that would have been about 10 years ago)

I assumed this was being on a discussion panel at an event, e.g. a conference or convention, than anything to do with market research.

Sure, yeah, me too. I was just talking in terms of rates of remuneration being comparable.

I assumed this was being on a discussion panel at an event, e.g. a conference or convention, than anything to do with market research.
yes that sort of thing. I'm used to doing these things for free - but I wondered if people are paid, what is reasonable to expect for an hour or two of 'expert' presence and a short speech

Like if a beer company (let’s say) wants you to be in a group to discuss its latest advert campaign ideas, there will be tea and biccies and maybe £50 in it for you for a couple of hours.
If its a beer company I'd want beer not tea. Maybe some peanuts as well.

If its a beer company I'd want beer not tea. Maybe some peanuts as well.

Yeah, I was kind of pretending it was hypothetical but at the one I went to I think we did get a beer when discussing (non-drivers only), and a couple to take away.
Was a fair while back.

in which case -

guess it depends how much the organisation in question is making out of the event, and if so whether that's corporate profits or funds towards (something you consider to be) a good cause.