Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

How do you take a good photograph?

Edie

What it says on the tin. Wondered if any of you could pass on a tip or two for how you take a good photograph?

I know it's not what you specifically asked for but there's online photography courses available through Groupon. I've not used them so cannot vouch for them.

Also there's these people Diploma in Photography four weeks free course.

There's a lot of others offering free and paid for courses. Again I've no experience of any of them.

Danski is right. But this works much better on an applied basis. Why don't you post up some photos and we can tell you why they're shit?
Cos I’ve not taken any. (Any that aren’t just snaps of my kids iyswim). But maybe I’ll go and take a photo this weekend and do that. I’ll have to be Harehills by Jimmies mind cos I’m working. It will be clueless, although I will try the rule of thirds.

In general I find I get better results after giving the composition of a shot a bit of thought rather than just pointing and shooting.

It depends on the sort of photo you’re taking though. That approach wouldn’t really work for street photography for example. Although I suppose as you got better at other types of shots you’d have a better eye for quickly composing something.

The best advice I ever got from a professional photographer was to just take shitloads of photos and choose the best one.
Not sure I agree with this. Lots of practice is fine, but you need to giving it some thought. You won’t learn much by randomly shooting loads and hoping for the best.

Cos I’ve not taken any. (Any that aren’t just snaps of my kids iyswim). But maybe I’ll go and take a photo this weekend and do that. I’ll have to be Harehills by Jimmies mind cos I’m working. It will be clueless, although I will try the rule of thirds.
There is the preexisting 'critique' thread too, which had a lot more going on back in the day than in recent times: