Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Denmark Street Photo Project: Street of Sound

cybertect

It's grim up north (London)
Note to mods: I cleared this with editor before posting.

As some of you may know, I'm a bit of a photographer in my spare time, and also a bit of a musician; mostly bass, but sometimes guitar, mandolin and I've recently decided to get to grips with keyboards.

As a result of the the musical bit, I've spent a lot of time shopping along Denmark Street over the last thirty five years or so and a recent-ish office move to Covent Garden has put it right on my doorstep.

20150616_0024-800x600.jpg

With the departure of the 12 Bar Club to the Holloway Road in January and a large construction project, St Giles Circus, about to swallow up the remains of Denmark Place just to the north, there's been a lot of press about Denmark Street being on its last legs, with a fairly high profile campaign to 'save' it.

What I found, when spending any amount of time talking to the people running the music shops, was that they themselves were rather more positive about things than that.

20150629_0063-1024x732.jpg

I'd already started taking photos of the shops along Denmark Street and I thought it was worth turning this into a proper project, exploring this and to document the street as it is now and, over the longer term, what happens to it as St Giles Circus is built. To my surprise, it seems that no one else is doing this. There's plenty of camera crews and journalists looking for a sound bite, but no one looking over a longer period.

To this end, I've started gathering stories from the people that work there and taking photographs to accompany them. I've a bunch of the music shops on the street already agreed to participate and I've set up a web site to publish them.

http://streetofsound.uk