Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Blues in the 1920's

Knotted

Bet the horse knew his name
ska invita asked me to do a thread on 1920’s blues. This was a little while ago and I had some life happening so I put it off.

But I didn’t forget!

So here we are. I listen to this stuff but I’m really no expert on the history, and I’ve tried to do a bit of research, it would good if this were good but I can only do my best.

I’m going to be focusing on the earliest recordings. But feel free to add whatever.

The first recordings were women singers in an effectively jazz band context applying a certain tradition whose origins are lost in time. Of course just looking at recordings provides a skewed history as there were obviously people doing things and not recording. These are very much live traditions.

Let’s start in 1920 with Mamie Smith and Crazy Blues. Arguably the first blues recording – Mamie did a couple recordings before this which are bluesy but feel tempered. This recording really is the full whack. She was a Harlem singer with a vauderville background and in terms of instrumentation it sounds just like New Orleans jazz. Sliding trombone in the bass, shrill clarinet over the top and a horn or two in the middle. But otherwise to my ears this is pretty full on developed blues ie. vocal jazz with a lilting melancholia. Blue notes and blues scale – it’s all there fully formed. So I guess she was drawing on an already well established tradition.

1626621469589.png

Mamie Smith - Crazy Blues (1920) - YouTube

The thing that isn’t there is the 12 bar (or 8 bar or whatever) “classic” blues structure. That’s just not a thing at this time. The blues has this reputation for being formulaic and one the things that’s refreshing about going back to these old recordings is that there wasn’t formula.

Got to say that's a great sound for 1920 and a real game changer as it proved popular.