Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Question Types of computer graphics

aileen

Hello, everyone!
I am new to photography and graphics.Trying to get more about graphics in overall. I know there is a pixel graphics, vector graphics... what is the main difference in it? Are there more variants of graphics?
Sorry, if my question looks silly... completely new in this field

Everything ends up as pixels eventually, but when people say "pixel art", they mean they draw it pixel by pixel. Like when you zoom in fully on MS Paint and you see a grid and every time you click you fill in a square...that's pixel art/graphics.

4388b869fd04d7e6dc6b899fc853ef37.jpeg

Vectors are when you define lines in relation to each other, so the renderer can re-draw the shape/image when you zoom in and out and you don't lose quality. Some people call a specific type of art vector art, like this:

vector-background-graphic-31.jpeg

I'm not sure how the name came about for this style, but it's usually 'flat', with bold, block colours, and either geometric or abstract. There's nothing to stop you creating that exact image by doing pixel art, though. Vectors are usually SVG files.

Then there's voxels, which are like 3D pixels. You can make anything with these cubes and it can produce an oldskool, yet modern/cool look about them. Minecraft is probably the most famous use of this technique:

1*yhawaNDi6Z6eYcCNgGYtVQ.jpeg

And then you have polygons, which are like voxels of an arbitrary shape. The more polygons, the more "real it looks. Remember the first 3D games that looked really blocky? They had fewer polygons than newer ones, where you have more definition on curves and whatever.

Sophisticated-rendering-techniques.jpeg

And that's about the sum of my knowledge, and almost certainly outdated. You better not be a spammer because this was more effort than I intended :)