Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Shooting in the rain? water and electronics?

weltweit

So, I don't have an Olympus with their "envious making" environmental sealing.

I have a Nikon which I don't think has great sealing and I am using it with non weather sealed lenses.

It is going to rain tomorrow and Sunday, I haven't taken my camera out for weeks and would like to go take some pictures, but the rain the rain, what should I do?

I have heard of people using plastic bags and elastic bags, does anyone actually do that? sheltering under an umbrella which seems - well no I have some experience of that - I nearly fell into a river! :) others buy specially made rain covers..

What to do?

What do you do?

Speaking as one who destroyed a £250 camera with a cup of tea...

I now use a large (A3 size) clear zip-lock bag with a hole for the lens cut at the end, I also use an umbrella.

I wanted a weatherproof camera, but I simply couldn't find one that had the image quality and zoom for a price I was willing to pay...

Speaking as one who destroyed a £250 camera with a cup of tea...
How did you manage that?

I now use a large (A3 size) clear zip-lock bag with a hole for the lens cut at the end, I also use an umbrella.
Yes, I figure a large clear bag with elastic band to keep it tight around the lens hood could work.

I wanted a weatherproof camera, but I simply couldn't find one that had the image quality and zoom for a price I was willing to pay...
Well they say my camera has some sealing, but they won't give it an IP rating and they won't repair water damaged cameras either as far as I can tell so I don't want to take the risk. Apart from that my lenses are not sealed so ..

IP ratings and bothering to get things certified for them is a bit more serious than whether you can go out in the rain with something. I think you'll be fine.