Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Search Engines

manji

I’m no techie but a regular Apple IOS user. Bit slow to this but fed up with the usual search engines being rubbish. Are there any decent search engines ?

Please define what you find rubbish about the search engines to help us recommend alternatives.

Not accurate enough?
Too generic a response?
Too technical a response?
Trying too hard to appease your biases?
Slow?
1 and 2. Safari or Google when you search something it just comes up with a list of obvious answers . You can very rarely find anything helpful .
I will give you a very specific example. A few years ago I was reading about a very important incident in Afghanistan. Whatever keywords I put in I couldn’t find out about it.
That was one example. Google was at one time extremely good at finding out that sort of thing. Not just political I’d forget a name of a band . I could always find it . Now it’s just shit loads of generic advertisements.
Even worse now if I’m looking for a news item or even a historical question I’m led to sites that have paywalls

1 and 2. Safari or Google when you search something it just comes up with a list of obvious answers . You can very rarely find anything helpful .
I will give you a very specific example. A few years ago I was reading about a very important incident in Afghanistan. Whatever keywords I put in I couldn’t find out about it.
That was one example. Google was at one time extremely good at finding out that sort of thing. Not just political I’d forget a name of a band . I could always find it . Now it’s just shit loads of generic advertisements.
Even worse now if I’m looking for a news item or even a historical question I’m led to sites that have paywalls
Actually nowadays AI can be quite helpful with this.
I use chat.openai.com a fair bit nowadays

You do need to do some fact checking with what it presents but it can often suftvthe chaff from the grain