Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Online exhibition about Wapping

From Mayday Rooms, see here:
My Dad was one of the refusenik journalists who refused to go along with the changes and was dismissed (I think he eventually got some sort of redundancy payment, although many didn't). I think he was also involved in the production of the Wapping Post, the strikers' paper

I was a student at the time, and living not far away in Mile End, so used to go on the picket lines quite often, especially on a Saturday night when they were trying to get the NotW out. It was the London version of the Miners' Strike.

My Dad was one of the refusenik journalists who refused to go along with the changes and was dismissed (I think he eventually got some sort of redundancy payment, although many didn't). I think he was also involved in the production of the Wapping Post, the strikers' paper

I was a student at the time, and living not far away in Mile End, so used to go on the picket lines quite often, especially on a Saturday night when they were trying to get the NotW out. It was the London version of the Miners' Strike.
I lived in Clapton with all the first wave of class war. It was easier transport wise than the miners strike cos of the 253 bus.

I went most weeks and on surprise pickets as well. There was a lot of tracking of the blue paper lorries and full on repeated attempts to disable them away from the plant. Plus some uglier attacks on the scab coaches when they were picking scabs up.

I got nicked once and avoided prison as the local bastard magistrate had a heart attack the night before my trial and was replaced by a dimwit.

The one year anniversary picket was probably the hardest and longest scrap I have been involved in.

andysays
Good on your dad. Is he still with us may I ask? I hope so. Tell him big respect from me.
He is.