Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

In Praise of Marshes

Elpenor

Haytor’s gonna hate
I rather like marshes. They’re a transition between land and water. By their very nature we often travel over or round them rather than through them. There was a song we sang at infant school to that effect I think.

Today I walked on paths around the local marshes. I am by no means an expert in flora and fauna but I certainly heard a wide variety of birdsong.

They’re an environment I find intriguing. I think they’re often depicted as gloomy, desolate, dangerous in literature. But I find them peaceful, and that they have hidden secrets to reveal.

Here’s a picture from my walk today
9549690E-18A3-4836-BF68-4C78172F6C9E.jpeg
Tell me more about your favourite marshes

Peat bogs are brilliant too - total nightmare to walk on, but great at storing water and carbon. Good habitat for quite a few species as well - remember accidentally annoying nesting birds while walking across the tops years ago.

It's also interesting when the peat reaches saturation capacity due to loads of rain - was walking along a bridleway that ran on the same contour level round the hillside, and there was essentially a continuous sheet of water just pouring down the hillside.

etc. etc.

MARSHES FTW!

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

The Water Margin, top silly telly before I had any idea China might be part of my life, rubber heads bouncing about and just endless confusing fights. So Liangshanpo, though it's gone now as the Yellow River changed it's course.

I live near 4 marshes 😎 Walthamstow Marshes & Leyton Marsh are the closest (basically 10 mins walk away) followed by Hackney Marshes (15 minutes) & Tottenham Marshes (40 mins-ish) . They kept me sane during lockdown , walked on them every day .

etc. etc.

MARSHES FTW!

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Superb. Exminster is quite near to me I think

The Romney Marsh is awesome