Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Gramsci question

A good summary of Gramsci? That's difficult. His work is argued over. I wouldn't say I'm an expert.

As I've read Marx Das Capital volume one a few years back. I'd say reading the person themselves rather than introduction works better.

Because he's come up at least twice in the past couple of days on social media. A Green Party account I follow mentioned him and that link to the free stuff was shared by the journalist, Paul Mason. He's a name I've heard through the years , often from people I admire, without knowing much about him.

I will try with some of the stuff in the free link and see how I go.

Happy to hear of any more accessible stuff too.

Reactions: tim
Because he's come up at least twice in the past couple of days on social media. A Green Party account I follow mentioned him and that link to the free stuff was shared by the journalist, Paul Mason. He's a name I've heard through the years , often from people I admire, without knowing much about him.

I will try with some of the stuff in the free link and see how I go.

Happy to hear of any more accessible stuff too.
Gramsci's Political Thought - An Introduction, by Roger Simon (1982) is very accessible, but comes with the caveat that the writer's own position intrudes (this always happens with secondary sources, the trick is to know what their angle is and compensate for it). It's very basic, but if you use it as a roadmap for passages in the Reader you've linked to already you should find it useful.

Out of interest, if you've not read much political theory, why are you starting with Gramsci? He's not easy to read, and there are other places I'd go long before looking at him.

MightyTibberton this is a really good point by Danny.