Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Anarchism Decision Making

Biscuitician

Banned
Banned
Political dissatisfaction has led me toward Anachism in recent months. Consequently I am no expert in the theory. One issue that keeps raising its head for me regards decision making. Specifically: if the people are going to represent themselves and make decisions communally, won't that take up an awful lot of time? Or is that a notion derived from the representative system we have now, where the ruling class reinforces that notion that us plebs should relinquish our capability to our betters if only for convenience?

Won't there be decisions that need making all the time?

So how does that get resolved, practically speaking? That's what I'm struggling with.
It depends on the decision and the group. Sometimes people vote, sometimes there's consensus, sometimes people in a consensus decision making process block stuff, sometimes the decision's referred to a smaller group - it's anarchism, there are no hard and fast rules.

Ok, I'm really speaking about the sheer logistics involved, not the mechanism of resolution. So if decisions need to be made and all members can vote, then how do we enable that? Essentially: how will people have time to do anything else if they have to attend meetings (assuming they choose to) to vote all the time?

Ok, I'm really speaking about the sheer logistics involved, not the mechanism of resolution. So if decisions need to be made and all members can vote, then how do we enable that? Essentially: how will people have time to do anything else if they have to attend meetings (assuming they choose to) to vote all the time?
People don't need to vote on everything, it's not like everyone would come together to decide every single question

But you'd agree that the system has to allow for that, even if individual members of the community choose not to participate in a given decision?