Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Evelyn Grace Academy - new school in east Brixton

lang rabbie

Je ne regrette les gazebos
Does anyone know why the new Academy school (to be built on part of the old depot site between Loughborough Park and Shakespeare Road) is called Evelyn Grace Academy. :confused:

img_14.jpg

http://www.arkschools.org/pages/evelyn-grace/new-buildings.php

No idea I'm afraid but crikey what an unattractive building. :eek:

I'm a teacher and would really love to teach at a school in Brixton. Not just because it would mean an easy journey :)p ) but mainly because I'd like to work within the community in which I live. Unfortunately both this school, and the proposed new school on Brixton Hill, are being planned as academies. This is the privatisation of education by the back door and I wouldn't be prepared to work in one :(

I remember reading this a while ago. As far as I can remember it is called Evelyn Grace Academy by the man who put up most of the money for the school to be built. Can't remember his name. But Evelyn Grace is a mix of his mother and grandmothers name. I seem to remember there was a big objection to him naming it at the time.

It looks from that as if the sports choices are; the 100 metre sprint, the 100 metre sprint, or the 100 metre sprint.

This will be run by Ark Academies. I recently had an i/v with them for one of their other schools in London so had quite a long conversation with them about their involvement (in that particular school). They tend to come in and take over failing schools, or build schools in areas in need. You can look up the Ark website and read all about their "mission" which is not just about education but social inclusion in general. Academies can be quite controversial - usually because of where the money might be coming from and/or potential ulterior motives.