Urban75 Home About Offline BrixtonBuzz Contact

Stop Online Piracy Act (Sopa): how it could affect UK based websites like Urban 75.

bmd

Island in the stream.
Firstly I'm not an expert on SOPA but I do feel quite strongly about the scattergun approach of this law. I also feel that there's an attempt to change something that has become a daily part of a lot of lives without any recourse to a consultation with those people. I am not for piracy but I also feel that this situation is partly made from the big entertainment corporation's decisions about their business models in the Internet era. They don't work but instead of addressing that, they want to change the Internet.

So...

SOPA is a law that's in the process of being passed (or not) in the US. It stands for Stop Online Piracy Act. It attempts to deal with online sites that traffic in illegally copied content, but at extreme cost of remaking the architecture of the internet itself.

How does SOPA work? Read the first two short paragraphs from here to get a good idea.

http://www.theverge.com/2011/12/22/2648219/stop-online-piracy-act-sopa-what-is-it

Why will it affect your use of U75?

These kinds of potential laws can raise a lot of hysterical reaction to them with very little substance and I think that has happened to a certain extent with SOPA. However, there is the potential with the massive powers that are being put forward, for this bill to be used as a sledgehammer to crack a nut. If, for instance, someone on here posts a copyright protected image and the copyright holder picks up on that and wants to immediately go down the litigation route then U75 could be blocked by your ISP until it's sorted. Then you will have to fanny about putting in place measures to get you onto U75 and that's assuming that Editor would keep it open whilst the case was ongoing.